Monthly Archives :

October 2020

Members Named BBJ’s Power 50 of 2020

150 150 Olivia Sayah

The Boston Business Journal named four members of MWF in their Power 50 of 2020, leaders of Greater Boston’s business community are meeting the challenges of 2020 head on. Members recognized were (from left to right):









  • Betty Francisco, General Counsel, Compass Working Capital; Co-founder, Amplify Latinx and Latina Circle
  • Dr. Laurie Glimcher, President and CEO, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Paula Johnson, President, Wellesley College
  • Laurie Leshin, President, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Read more about the honor here.

IWF Announces New Leadership

150 150 Olivia Sayah

October 28, 2020


Dear IWF Members:


On behalf of the Nominating Committee, I am proud to present to you the new slate of officers and directors for the 2020-2022 term. Earlier today, the IWF Board of Directors ratified the slate.


We were very saddened when earlier this month our President-Nominee, Vuyo Mahlati, suddenly passed away. Through this difficult time, the Nominating Committee reconvened, reviewed the names of all qualified candidates, and developed the new slate below.


The Nominating Committee enthusiastically and unanimously selected Helen Rule as President-Nominee, and Carolyn Carter as Vice President-Nominee.


The Nominating Committee had the privilege to analyze and consider the credentials of outstanding candidates – each ready and willing to advance the mission, goals and objectives of our global organization. It was the largest pool of candidates in IWF history.


The new IWF Board of Directors, effective today are:

  • President: Helen Rule (Australia)
  • Vice President: Carolyn Carter (USA – New York)
  • Chair of the Audit, Finance Committee: Ana Muñoz (Spain)

At-Large Directors:

  • Adriane Brown (USA – Washington State)
  • Holly Cannon (USA – Washington, DC)
  • Karen Caplan (USA – Southern California)
  • Kathleen Carroll (USA – Chicago)
  • Kimberly Cooper Jaqua (USA – Oregon)
  • Silvia Dávila (Mexico)
  • Anne Doyle (USA – Michigan)
  • Susan Hodkinson (Canada)
  • Nancy Laughton (Canada – British Columbia)
  • Rosel Moxey (Bahamas)
  • Maria Auxiliadora Patiño de Macias (Ecuador)
  • Elisabeth Ourliac (France)
  • Sandy Stash (Canada, Ghana and United Kingdom)
  • Alison Taunton-Rigby (USA – Massachusetts)

They have been elected to join current IWF Directors, elected by the Presidents’ Council in 2019, who have one year remaining on their terms through October 2021 as follows:

Directors elected by the Presidents’ Council:

  • Reem Abu Hassan (Jordan)
  • Rebecca Barfknecht (USA – Northern California)
  • Shannon Block (USA – Colorado)
  • Dana Morris Dixon (Jamaica)
  • Julie Goldstein (United Kingdom)

We congratulate the newly elected Officers and Directors and thank the board for its leadership and service to IWF and to our shared mission to advance women’s leadership and champion equality worldwide.


Teresa VF Weintraub
IWF Nominating Committee

Marianne Harrison Named a 2020 New Englander of the Year

400 400 Olivia Sayah

Marianne Harrison has been named a 2020 New Englander of the Year by the New England Council. As John Hancock’s first female CEO, she has made diversity of all types a priority at the company, and has worked to support and advance women in the predominantly-male financial services industry. Click here to read more about the honor.

Members Named Women Who Mean Business!

600 200 Olivia Sayah

Congratulations to MWF Members Yvonne Garcia, Sandi Fenwick, Myechia Minter-Jordan, and Cindy Perettie for being named Women Who Mean Business by the Boston Business Journal! Honorees were selected based on their professional achievements, leadership, entrepreneurial skills and dedication to the community. Read more here.